The Two Types of Eid in Islam


In the Islamic calendar, there are two types of Eid; Eid ul Fitr and Eid ul Adha. Both of these are great occasions of festivities and celebrations for all Muslims around the world. Moreover, both of these Eids we designated by the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). On these 2 special days every year, Muslims in every corner of the world rejoice and reflect upon blessings bestowed on them by Allah (SWT).

Even though both of these festivals are collectively called ‘Eid’, there is a huge difference in how they are celebrated and the time of the year they are celebrated.

Eid ul Fitr: The Small Eid

Eid ul Fitr also known as the ‘festival of the breaking of fast’ is celebrated to mark the end of the holy month of Ramadan. Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar and it holds great significance in Islam. Muslims all around the world observe fast for a specific number of hours for the entire month of Ramadan.

This is why, just after Ramadan ends the very next day on 1st of Shawwal Muslims are rewarded in the form of Eid ul Fitr. Eid ul Fitr is also known as the small eid is a festival celebrated by Muslims globally for their utmost dedication towards Allah (SWT) and a month-long fasting period. Muslims put on the best of their clothes and families come together for celebrations by exchanging Eid greetings and gifts.

One essential aspect of Eid ul Fitr is Fitrana; a specific amount that is mandatory to be paid by Muslims to ensure that poor people also get to celebrate this joyous occasion. In order to ensure that your Fitrana reaches the deserving, you can rely on us. Ekplatebiryani will ensure that your donated funds are spent on the right cause through various projects such as food drives, food distribution, and installation of handpumps in water-scarce areas like Thar.

Eid ul Adha: The Big Eid

Eid ul Adha also known as the ‘festival of sacrifice’ is celebrated every year on the tenth of Dhul-Hijjah as a remembrance of the historical incident involving Prophet Abraham and his son Prophet Ismail. The annual pilgrimage and the fifth pillar of Islam that is Hajj is also followed by Eid ul Adha.

Eid ul Adha is considered a more significant one among two types of eid. Every year on Eid ul Adha billions of Muslims slaughters an animal in the memory of the greatest sacrifice that Prophet Abraham made years ago merely for the sake of Allah (SWT). Allah (SWT) commanded Prophet Abraham to sacrifice the most precious thing and he was ready to sacrifice his dearest son however, at the final moment of sacrifice Allah (SWT) replaced Prophet Ismail with a lamb.

Since then, Muslims have been performing Qurbani on this day. One key aspect of Eid ul Adha is the distribution of the meat of slaughtered animals in 3 equal parts; one for family, one for neighbours, and one for needy. It is our utmost duty to remember the poor in our celebrations.

When is Eid ul Fitr and Eid ul Adha?

According to the Islamic calendar, Eid ul Fitr always falls on the 1st of Shawwal right after the holy month of Ramadan ends. However, according to the Gregorian calendar, the date of Eid ul Fitr changes by approximately 10 days each coming year. This is because the Islamic calendar follows the lunar cycle instead of the predetermined calendar.

In accordance with the Islamic calendar Eid ul Adha falls on the 10th of Dhul-hijjah however, likewise Eid ul Fitr, Eid ul Adha has no specified date in the Gregorian calendar.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is correct Eid ul Fitr or Eid al-Fitr?

Eid ul Fitr or Eid al Fitr either of these are correct. Eid ul Fitr is often referred to as Eid al Fitr. The pronunciation varies from region to region.

Are Ramadan and Eid the same?

No, Ramadan is one of the holiest months of the Islamic calendar in which Muslims observe fast for a specific number of hours daily. On the other hand, Eid is a festival that Muslims celebrate. Eid is a collective term for two types of Eid which are Eid ul Fitr and Eid ul Adha.

What is the difference between Eid ul Fitr and Eid Mubarak?

Eid ul Fitr is one of the two types of Eid celebrated in Islam. Eid ul Fitr marks the end of Ramadan which is the month of fasting and utmost dedication to Allah (SWT). On the other hand, Eid Mubarak is a phrase by which Muslims wish each other on the day of Eid ul Fitr. Eid stands for ‘celebrations’ and Mubarak stands for ‘blessed’.


In order to make your celebrations of two types of Eid in Islam worth it, you should ensure that you make the poor an integral part of your celebrations. You can only achieve this by donating wholeheartedly, be it the fitrana on Eid of Fitr or the meat of slaughtered animals on Eid ul Adha.

This year be it the Eid ul Fitr or Eid ul Adha, join hands with Ekplatebiryani and keep supporting our charitable activities with your generous donations. May Allah (SWT) always let us be the one who gives away instead of taking!


About Me

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Recent Posts

Don't forget to share this post!

Sign up for our Newsletter